Plaid Flannel Negroni

Hooray for Indie Patterns Month! Although actually this year there will be a two-month celebration, given that the annual Indie Pattern Month being run by The Monthly Stitch is in June, and the month organised by Mari from Seamster patterns is in May. It’s a busy month with Me-Made-May as well and this week is Selfish Sewing Week on Kollabora.

I kind of missed out on the selfish sewing week because (other than the bra) I only sewed for Mr. Guy this week.

Image

I’m quite a fan of checked flannel shirts, and have wanted to make him one for a while, inspired by “The New Zealand Legend”, the Swanndri. After I had such success with his first shirt, I decided to finally get around to making him one. I can call this one a success as well, he’s worn it almost every day since I made it!

ImageI used Lladybird’s tutorial when cutting out the fabric to ensure all the stripes matched. I thought I had made sure the sleeves matched as well but I’m thinking that the flatness of the sleevehead means you can’t match? I don’t know, it didn’t work anyway. But everywhere else – that is some MATCHING, ladies and gentlemen! I would like to point out the matching stripes at

  • The front
  • Both side seams
  • Each pocket and pocket flap! That one required re-cutting
  • The sleeve placket and cuffs
  • The collar!
  • Even the damned facings match even though there’s no way you’d be able to see that.

ImageOnce I get a hand sewing needle and stitch the pocket buttons on, it’ll sit flat and the stripes will line up PERFECTLY

I’m surprised I got it all so lined up, I used every last bit of fabric I had – which was only 104cm wide! Luckily I bought 3 yards*. I’ll admit the collar matching the shirt body was accidental, but it is a beautiful sight. I initially cut the yoke to match the body of the shirt but Mr. Guy thought it would be better cut on the bias, and he’s right – even if the lines matched in the middle they wouldn’t have on either side once the pleats get in the way.

* srsly I’ve decided to pretty much stop buying fabric from online – they only cut the exact measurement (and it’s usually in yards rather than metres), unlike our fabulours local sewing ships, and it’s often really narrow. Plus all the other obvious stuff like, supporting local, travel miles, not being able to feel the fabric.

ImageI made no changes to the fit since it fit perfectly in the first place, although there was something weird going on in the front (too much fabric at the center front so I chopped it off). The facing of the last version can swing open sometimes and you see the little seam there, so this time I did my trick of sewing the facing and interfacing right sides together, then turning and pressing so the seam is nice and pretty. I also, y’know, used black interfacing (unlike the white interfacing in the navy linen shirt) which helps.

I also drafted a collar stand and proper collar – when I asked, Mr. Guy said he would much prefer that to the camp-style collar, and even Zara from Off-Grid Chic said only Hawaiian shirts are allowed to not have a collar stand. For lack of a better option and following the suggestions on the Male Pattern Boldness – Men’s Shirt Sewalong, I traced off a pattern piece from an existing shirt. This worked well except I must not have had a right-angle at the “cut on fold” side. It looked a bit weird but luckily I was able to save it. Next time I might try and add a button placket rather than having a facing.

ImageThe only thing I don’t like is how the pocket flaps attach – the edge isn’t finished and because the back of the fabric is white, it looks bit odd, but not many people will see that. I guess it’s a sign of me growing up as a sewer that I care how so much about how the insides look.

ImageI love how this shirt turned out, and am quite jealous of Mr Guy – I tried it on and it’s soooo comfortable, so I’m just waiting on some muslin before I can plan my own flannel Archer shirt.

Details

Pattern: Negroni shirt by Colette Patterns

Fabric: Cotton plaid flannel from fabric.com, about $25 including shipping

Notions: Interfacing, thread (stash) and buttons, $3.70

Total: $28.70

ImageHave I convinced anyone else to try making stuff fo’ yo man? Sonja, I’m lookin’ at you. Look at that happy face.

12 thoughts on “Plaid Flannel Negroni

  1. Ha! I just cackled out loud at your link to the Google image search of “sewer.” This is why sewist, though not a real word, makes me happy. I always, always, always read sewer as that thing filled with poo water and rats.

    In other news, this shirt looks so great! Your plaid matching is outstanding and Mr. Sophie-Lee looks so good in it. Fabulous job, lady friend!

  2. Stuff sewing for my man, I want this shirt for myself! Your plaid matching is fantastic – you’d never get that on RTW – and it just looks soo cosy! I better not show this to husband or he will be wanting some shirts!

    • Haha! I feel ya – the whole time I was making it I was trying to figure out if I could get away with making it for myself instead. But Mr. Guy loves handmade clothes now so wouldn’t let me

  3. Super awesome shirt, Sophie-Lee! It looks so darn comfy! Excellent job! Also, I don’t think you can match the sleeve stripes…. I’ve seen even men’s couture shirts that don’t have matching sleeves. I should send you some flannels I have, as I likely will never use them.

  4. You’re brave. I’m currently working on Negroni #2 as well, but in a solid blue. I was also told to add a collar stand this time…so it’s going to be gingham πŸ™‚
    I may be emailing you with questions…

  5. Your man is very lucky you sew for him! If I had a bf, I am not sure how long it would have to take for me to agree to make him something…..The stripe matching is perfect.

  6. This shirt turned out great! I love it!
    So inspiring to see you make so many things for your guy! In fact, I got so inspired last time, I bought the jedediah pants pattern! Now I just have to find me some proper fabric, and I’ll be good to go! πŸ™‚

Leave a comment