Tough chick dressed by Sophie: part two

Earlier in the year I did a post about some clothes I had made and were now in the possession of my sister-in-law, Tough Chick (that’s what her TV show would be called, if she had one). I realised I hadn’t posted the second lot of photos and, while I’m on holiday and not sewing (it’s our wedding anniversary!) I would post the second lot. These photos were taken at the end of a long day so we ended up getting quite silly with the poses. Both the tops were RTW tops that I gave to her as well. Even the shoes were once mine! Tough Chick doesn’t like shopping very much.

The first two are both made from this Burdastyle pattern and both ended up a bit too small for me. The first is made from a purple cotton ponte from The Fabric Warehouse

ImageImageIt doesn’t have a separate waistband or facing; instead, the top is folded down and tacked in place, so it looks seamless but it a bit harder to fit if you have a big difference between waist and hips, like me.

The second one is made from a lavendar woven fabric (?content) with lots of stretch, leftover from another dress.

ImageThe following is an example of my learning curve when it comes to choosing fabric for projects. It’s a Hollyburn skirt that started out as the knee-length, but I cut the hem so wonky it ended up being quite short. It’s made from a polka dot fabric (either polyester or rayon, I can’t remember) that is so lightweight it’s obviously meant to be a lining rather than a full skirt!

ImageImageThe last skirt was my Christmas present to TC, and is a Colette Ginger skirt made from an acrylic fabric, lined with some kind of fabric (honestly, I should know all this, but they were all made before I had a really good handle on fabric selection). It’s hemmed with a lace facing.

ImageImageSo, that’s that. Last year I ended up getting rid of quite a few of my me-made items and although I’m getting better, I have a few items made this year that will end up the same way (hopefully TC wants them too). I’m not sure if it’s because of my fitting, or because I’m sewing styles that aren’t completely me? It’s so easy to get caught up in hype about certain patterns, or decide that you like a pattern so much without really thinking about whether it’ll suit you or not.

At least it’s better making your own than buying RTW, as I used to buy things purely for the fabric rather than the style (I would buy basically anything polka dot that I could find). Do you guys think it’s easier or harder to “shop to flatter” when sewing your own clothes?

5 thoughts on “Tough chick dressed by Sophie: part two

  1. Lucky sister !! I have a tip about making sure you will wear your finished projects. I also used to make all manner of styles because they were pretty, shiny and all over the blogosphere but would end up donating far too many because they just weren’t me. Then I read (somewhere) these tips: look at your RTW clothes you love and get most wear out of and find patterns and fabrics that best replicate those. Also when planning a new project make sure it can be worn with at least 2 or 3 other items in your wardrobe. These two ideas helped me a lot, I still do make things that really are not for me, just not so many 🙂

    • The thing is, I hardly have any RTW left in my wardrobe! Most of it is handmade. I am getting better though because I know the types of things I reach for when I get the chance – it’s usually the fit that gets me these days, rather than the style

  2. I have issues with fit as well as I have large hips, a large behind, and a waist that is small in comparison. I have a lot of books on fitting that have helped me like Threads: Fitting for Every Figure, but the most helpful thing is just tweaking.

    Tina from solestitch.blogspot.com

    • Yeah, I find that I much prefer actually trying out my own ideas on the fitting, rather than working on the theory. Although I should probably do “full butt adjustments” rather than just grading out the hips, it hasn’t been too much of an issue yet

  3. I totally understand the shopping to flatter issue. I have HEAPS of clothes that I made because I was facinated by the pattern, rather than because they are in any way flattering. Must think more before comitting to a project

Leave a Reply

