Don’t be a Dickie: Thread Theory’s Jedediah Trousers

Folks, there is a reason why Thread Theory was one of my top, all time favoutite pattern companies. Here I am with my first ever pair of trousers, and apart from a few tiny issues, they look just like RTW (particularly like Dickies brand pants).

Image I traced off this pattern yesterday, washed and dried the calico for a muslin, and made the muslin which I initially thought was going to send me into a spiral of fitting-doom. From Mr. Guy’s measurements I traced a 36 in the waist and 34 in the hips, but when he tried the muslin on there was all sorts of bagging and pulling, and to be honest I had NO idea where to start.

Then I remembered that he had told me earlier that he wore a 34 in RTW (why does he never remember that when we’re in shops?), so I went back and re-cut the pattern and muslin to a size 34 all over… and hey presto! Almost perfect fit. The waistband is still a touch loose so he will have to wear a belt (which he does will all his RTW anyway) and the back crotch seam needs to be lengthened; otherwise, that’s it! Thank goodness for him being a “standard” shape, I get enough fitting issues with my own clothes.

ImageI’m almost hesitant to say that the entire process of tracing, muslin, and making the pants only took me one day: I don’t want you all to hate me. I wouldn’t be surprised if you’re all sickened by how many garments I’m cranking out; I would be too! I guess I’m just relaxed and, well, there’s not much else to do here once you’ve taken the dog for a walk.

ImageJessie-dog and Travis the cat love to tussle.

The quickness it got made* was largely due to the pattern itself though. All of Thread Theory’s patterns I’ve made so far (which is all of them other than the Goldstream Peacoat) have been so well drafted, with excellent instructions that include little tips to help with the construction. There is also a sewalong for the trousers/shorts on their website which is always helpful for the confusing bits, and Morgan did a video on how to sew the fly – which made it so easy I didn’t have time to be apprehensive about it!

*now I have Sublime stuck in my head..

ImageI will admit that I made the fly a bit too shallow (I’m not sure how to explain that better), and am glad that my fly top-stitching isn’t contrasting so you can’t see that it’s a bit too close to the opening. That, and a few areas where my topstitching isn’t so straight on the corners (and the inner waistband – must remember to sew it on back to front like the La Sylphide neck tie) are the only areas that I’m not completely stoked about.

Image

I pretty much followed the instructions for the construction. Both inner and outer leg seams and the yoke are flat-felled, crotch seam is overlocked. I didn’t have any bias binding or the inclination to make any, so the waistband seam is just tucked away and stitched.

ImageThis is one of those projects that, although I was there every step of the way, I can’t quite believe that I made it. I was looking at each leg when I had finished them (prior to sewing the crotch seam), just admiring how good they look – now that is a good feeling. Obviously sewing menswear is good for my patience in ensuring I do everything nice and proper. Now I’m keen to try making shirts and pants for myself, once I have the fabric (I have the Archer shirt and the Thurlow trousers patterns, and I’d love to try making jeans).

ImageOf course not everything in the pants is “proper”, I had to sneak some kind of personalisation in there:

ImageOut of my stash, Mr. Guy chose this lobster print cotton for the pockets (yusss). It’s almost a shame that the pants are so well designed and you can’t see the pockets from the outside! He’ll have to just pull them out to show people, and next time I might copy Meg’s first pair and sew the pockets inside out so you can see the fabric when the trousers are off.

I didn’t actually do any decorative top-stitching on the pocket – should have just gone with the suggested stitching lines, but I want to have something really cool but couldn’t think of anything – plus I’m no good at machine embroidery. ONE DAY. The back patch pockets are also a bit small, too, as for some reason I only traced off the stitching template rather than the actual pocket piece!

Image See what I mean though? Only teensy tiny problems which aren’t even real problems. I’m getting a lot better at this sewing game!

Details

Pattern: Jedediah Trousers from Thread Theory

(I bought the PDF version a while ago, but just bought all the paper copies because I’m a fan girl ā¤ )

Fabric: Cotton twill from The Fabric Store, 2m at $18/m (on sale at 40% off) = $21.60

Notions: button and thread, stash. Interfacing, $2

Total: $23.60

Take that, $90 pants (although mine aren’t wrinkle resistant or “stain release”, whatever that means).

23 thoughts on “Don’t be a Dickie: Thread Theory’s Jedediah Trousers

  1. It is an awesome pattern, isn’t it? Great job! I love that you gave yourself a pat on the back for the pockets! I had all these great ideas for top stitching – but my hubby requested welt pockets in the back šŸ˜¦ – but it works out ok because I use funky pocket lining that can be seen a little, makes up for the boring brown/grey fabric he likes!

      • On his first pair I did mountain bike tracks – one side going up on a diagonal, the other side going down :-). But it is black stitching on black fabric, so not that noticeable. It’s easy when he has such an avid hobby/interest!

      • Hmm, it’d probably be a bit difficult to stitch a computer or bass guitar, Mr. Guy’s main hobbies. Maybe if I was really practiced – I guess I could do a computer mouse without much difficulty but he would probably think that was stupid!
        His next pair will probably be black shorts and I don’t think he’d like contrast top-stitching so yeah, no patterns on those either D:

  2. They look great! I always make my boyfriend check his size before we leave for the shops to go trouser hunting. I suspect it is inherently male to not know your size.

    • I know! The photos aren’t the greatest because he wasn’t feeling it, but they look spectacular – I guess there’s something inherently sexy about your husband wearing all clothes you made him

    • I think that’s what took me so long to make these up – I had told him HE had to trace the pattern off. Although he was happy to, it never happened (I guess because I’d have to show him how), so I finally just did it

  3. Awesome! These pants look great!
    I want to make a pair for my Guy soooo bad, just ain’t got any time (and I dont’t even have to walk a dog, haha!)..
    They look supergood on him, and thanks for sharing all your sewing details.

    • You should you should! I actually enjoyed it so much that I’m sacrificing another piece of my stash to make him another pair (or shorts) – luckily I can fit a skirt on the excess yardage so I don’t feel soooo bad.

  4. Pingback: Jedediah shorty shorts |

  5. Pingback: Jean juice |

Leave a Reply

