Lobster lips

Sooo, guess what I made??

Yep, another pencil/straight skirt. ImageI’ve really gotten into this “tried and true pattern” business – I know this pattern fits well, and it’s such a daily wardrobe staple I could easily make and wear 20 of these. It’s flattering (I’m pretty sure 😀 ) and comfortable, with enough room for my badonkadonk when I go from sitting to standing all the time at work. Image This version is made from a cotton-polyester drill from The Fabril Warehouse. Medium-weight with a teensy bit of drill. Unfortunately it wrinkles a bit and does sit kind of weirdly, but meh. Don’t care.

In terms of construction, I trimmed the interfacing back to the seam allowances before fusing:

ImagePinked then trimmed the top waistband seam (the clippings look like little love hearts):

ImageI added my usual vent (next time I will try doing a kick pleat, for fun):

Image

And, the best part, I added piping!

Image

Green tartan piping.

ImageI love piping – such an easy way to add pizazz to an otherwise simple garment. And look how well it lines up at the back!

Image

Lapped zipper, baby.

It, erm, may not have a button yet and is currently done up with a small safety pin. The button I bought (which matches the colour perfectly) is too big for the tiny flap I kept on the waistband. I’ve been thinking I might just put on one of those huge hook-eye-tab things like you get on pants.

Image

Not much else to say, really. I promise I’ll put some more interesting stuff on here instead of copy pastas. But really, I could make and wear 20 of these.

Details

Pattern: Pencil skirt from Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing

Fabric: 1.5m of cotton-polyester drill, $24 (could have gotten away with 1m)

Notions: Zip, $4, thread and interfacing, stash

Total: $28

Mr. Guy took me up the hill for photos, rather than having them always in the back- or front yard. It also involved swings!https://tworandomwords.files.wordpress.com/2013/12/p1050220.jpg

.Location shots FTW

Image

So – do you guys tend to stick to one pattern you know well or continue to challenge yourselves?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

7 thoughts on “Lobster lips

  1. It’s really lovely. You look great in it and I so want to add piping to something!! What a cool detail 🙂 another fantastic garment 🙂

  2. Good job with the piping, I likie. I have so many patterns in I want to sew that I never have any intentions to make a pattern more than once at first, but lately I’ve noticed that I have two of most things – i feel a bit like noah ark’s, everything goes into my wardrobe two by two.

    • I love piping. Unfortunately the piping shrank in the wash because I didn’t think to pre-wash it, but I was able to largely tug it back into place (because there was no piping cord in the zip seam).

      I think I’m going to need to make a proper waiting-list for my patterns, so I actually follow through on all my plans

  3. Pingback: The Leinster Award and some good feels! |

  4. Pingback: The “One Day” outfit featuring The Afternoon Blouse |

Leave a Reply

