Houndstooth Hollyburn

This skirt has been in the making for a while. I bought the horsehair braid months ago (the first time I ever met Mrs. C, hooray!); the fabric 3 months ago; and made the bulk of the skirt probably 2 months ago. Then it has hung in my “WIP wardrobe” for a month.

https://tworandomwords.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/p1040595.jpg

The pattern is Sewaholic’s Hollyburn, with the front piece cut on the fold rather than with a seam. I initially made the Hollyburn straight waist band and interfaced with horsehair canvas. Did not sit right at all. So I unpicked that and made a curved waistband (the one I’ve made from my Ginger skirts). Again, did not sit properly – and the side seams didn’t match up at all, which I couldn’t really let slide.

https://tworandomwords.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/p1040608.jpg

So again, I unpicked all of that, and decided to just go for an elastic waistband. One month later (a week ago) I finally bought the elastic, and only this evening finished the whole thing.

https://tworandomwords.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/p1040623.jpg

As you can probably see from my face, I’m not totally sold. The elastic is crazy comfortable, and it fits well – a touch tight perhaps, but I’ll never need to actually use the invisible zip I put in. The pockets are comfortable. But I think I’m going to have to take out the horsehair – you can see from the photos that it ripples, meaning I pulled it slighly when sewing the hem down. I also don’t think it quite works with the fabric – I think it needs to be a bit stiffer to look right, or I need to hand-sew it rather than topstitching.

https://tworandomwords.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/p1040620.jpg

https://tworandomwords.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/p1040618.jpg

Otherwise I do really like the skirt, and have had a compliment already about the shape and hem, so there. We’ll see if I get around to ripping the hem out and stitching it down like normal.

https://tworandomwords.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/p1040604.jpg

This picture makes me want to make a million leotards so I don’t get those stupid lines on my bum from my tshirt/singlet showing through. Leotards with crotch snaps like when we did ballet as kids.

One thought on “Houndstooth Hollyburn

  1. I think you’re right, horsehair braid needs to be in a fairly structured fabric to begin with. Also, it machine washes terribly, it creases and kinks and this is quite obvious. My dress with horsehair I only wear occasionally thank goodness or I’d have ripped it out by now. The shape is lovely on you, very cute, and yay for finishing ufos!

Leave a Reply

