It’s rhubarb, fool

I always forget both how busy Moore Wilson’s is on a Saturday morning; and also that they have tastings (yum)! Husband and I went down to get some things and headed into the Fresh department, without actually having anything in mind to buy (whoops – and ended up spending $20 on salami).

And, doing tastings was Totara Cottage – a complany who I haven’t come across before but whose Brownie Dessert Cups caught my eye… after tasting one (or two) mouthfulls of that and the rhubarb fool they served it with (she reassured me that the recipe would be going on her website that afternoon), I thought “hey, I could do that”! Spoiler alert: I can’t.

I used my trusty chocolate brownie recipe, scooped into pattie tins. Then I, Mrs 8 Wire, used my pattern weights (which are just heavy nuts from Bunnings) wrapped in baking paper, to create the hollow. Having only 6 weights and 12 spaces in the tin, we improvised and also used halved lemons, and just plain baking paper. Can you see where this is going?

Badness. Unfortunately I didn’t take a photo, but they were damn ugly. The spilled over, the insides didn’t cook, etc. I would now wholeheartedly recommend just buying the damn things, especially if you’re wanting to impress. But the filling… oh lord. It was quite an effort to get the rhubarb (including a produce worker who didn’t know what rhubarb was, and who later chased me down triumphantly brandishing a stick), but the outcome was so worth it.

So good, in fact, that last night I made a whole batch of brownie (regular shaped this time!) and this evening made another batch of the fool, this time with berries from my freezer.

https://tworandomwords.files.wordpress.com/2013/09/p1040569.jpgYou should make this.

Rhubarb Fool Recipe (adapted from Totara Cottage)

  • 300 – 400 gm rhubarb, or berries
  • 1/3 cup white sugar (less if using berries, trust me!)
  • 1/2 packet raspberry or strawberry jelly crystals
  • 150 ml cream, whipped
  1. Wash the rhubarb and cut into 2-3cm chunks, discarding the very tips.
  2. Put the rubarb in a pot, add ~1 tsp and stew over a low heat until mushy (just pop berries straight in without the water).
  3. While hot, add the sugar and jelly crystals and stir to dissolve.
  4. Cool till almost setting and stir in whipped cream.  Chill till set, or go for it like this if you can’t wait.

https://tworandomwords.files.wordpress.com/2013/09/p1040570.jpg

3 thoughts on “It’s rhubarb, fool

  1. You can totally make them! Your delicious brownie cups made a clean fingered platform for a very reasonable (okay,lets be honest here, a large…) amount of rhubarb fool. Which was also oh so tasty, and made me smile that I’d discovered rhubarb still alive in my ‘garden’ a couple of days earlier.

Leave a Reply

