Dresses of 2013

So now some dresses I made in 2012.

The first is a dress I didn’t actually make; I got the main dress from Glassons for about $10 on special, and added the strip on the bottom because lord, RTW dresses these days are short.

DSCN5448

I’m sure it’s not just my height and derrière that makes RTW so indecently short! I have talked to other who have the same problem, but it’s one of the reasons I started sewing my own clothes:

1. Clothes are just too damn short. It’s not, like my brother said, just because I’m overweight and can’t get away with shorter; I just don’t think it’s very appropriate, especially at work.

2. I was never really able to find things that fit well. When I was younger I had to buy men’s pants from Hallensteins. More recently I could only buy skirts with full skirts to fit my behind – anything else and it either fit on top and couldn’t even pull over my hips; or it fit on bottom and was really baggy around the bust and shoulders

3. Clothing of the style that I like is soo expensive. And, since I started sewing, I have realised the quality of the RTW I can afford is not good enough for my tastes.

So back to the dresses.

DSCN5452

DSCN5447

This is an orange-red linen, princess seamed dress from Glassons. I took it to Spotlight to match the fabric on the bottom, a mid-heavy weight cotton drill with white sunflowers on it.

DSCN5449

The dress is really comfortable, and it needs a belt to look it’s best. The arm hole is crazy big and so the dress has some serious side boob, as seen below.

     DSCN5450

DSCN5451

 

Next dress is a blue sateen dress made from New Look 6910 – which I no longer have as it was the pattern we used for my bridesmaids dresses and I sent my copy to one of the girls in Christrhurch.

DSCN5444

DSCN5443

Hello, neck gape! The most common alteration I have to make to patterns is taking this out – I guess I have narrow shoulders?? It’s a princess seam bodice (which I have always much preferred over darts) with pleated skirt and cap sleeves. I didn’t line it and didn’t know how to finish the neckline, so did a sort of machine scallop on the neckline.

DSCN5441

DSCN5442

The next was made from New Look 6824, from a floral cotton with a waffle-like finish that is remarkably comfortable. The Fabric Warehouse has similar fabric at the moment, I should have found out the name.

This was one was made and almost finished in Nelson January 2012. It got almost finished before I tried it on, HATED the neckline, and away it went. I pulled it out several months later and finished the zip and hem, and it’s actually one of my favourite dresses to wear – the fabric is really soft, it has a good amount of ease, although it is a touch too short for my tastes. I’m still not a fan of the square neckline and it does gape a bit, but it doesn’t bother me too much.

DSCN5404

DSCN5405

DSCN5406

3 thoughts on “Dresses of 2013

    • Ha I know – I currently don’t have a camera to use as I have.. misplaced my battery charger. So most of these photos were done by my sister-in-law, borrowing her flatmate’s camera; and a couple are iPhone pictures.

      This reminds me to actually order another battery charger already. Then I just have to wrangle the husband to take photos of me.

Leave a Reply

